New Mission Announced in Pretoria, South Africa


A new mission will be formed in Pretoria, South Africa.

As announced on on Wednesday 23 November, the South Africa Pretoria Mission will be created from portions of the now-existing Botswana / Namibia Mission, the South Africa Johannesburg Mission and the South Africa Durban Mission.

South Africa Pretoria Mission

The South Africa Pretoria Mission was one of six new missions announced on Wednesday. Five of these will be in Africa, namely the Cote d’Ivoire Abidjan North Mission, the Democratic Republic of the Congo Kananga Mission, the Nigeria Aba Mission, and the Nigeria Abuja Mission. The Romania Bucharest Mission was also announced.

These six missions will bring the number of missions operating in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints up to a total of 416. It is expected they will be become operational in July 2023. The names of new mission leaders for these missions and others are expected to be announced in January 2023.